I’ve decided to learn how to drive.

30 03 2009

I’ve done it. I’ve paid my money. I’ve purchased my “Skill for Life” package from the Institute of Advanced Motorists.

Skill for Life is, effectively, the first step of advanced driving (via IAM). As far as I understand, virtually all advanced driving courses/organisations/groups etc use Roadcraft as a foundation, and build from there.

So, I’ve had my copy of Roadcraft (The Police Driver’s Handbook) for a few months now. Why buy and read Roadcraft. The book explains:

“The aim of Roadcraft is to improve your driving ability. Your safety and that of other road users depends on your awareness of what is happening around you and your ability to control the position and speed of your vehicle relative to everything else on the road. A collision or even a near miss is often the result of a lapse in driving skill. Roadcraft aims to help you become a better driver by increasing your awareness of all the factors that affect your driving —your own capabilities, the characteristics of your vehicle, and the road and traffic conditions.

“The Roadcraft system of car control is a methodical approach to hazards which increases your safety by giving you more time to react in complex situations.”

I did start reading it when I got it…but then I sort of read it a bit less, and then less, and then not much at all. The reason is there’s nothing like personal tuition, and reading about driving just can’t teach you as much as when you’re doing it for real. Anyway, having paid for the course, I now have a strong reason to get reading it again.

The course won’t start until summer, so that’s it for now with regards to blogs my advanced driving story. In the meantime, my head contains a mixture of looking forward to learning all the new/advanced skills, and also thinking, “this is quite daunting.” Yes, I’m excited, but I’m sufficiently scared.

Please note: With reference to post name, I can in fact drive. However, advanced driving takes it up a gear(Thank you very much).

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 10 2009
Advanced driving: what it’s all about « The Rambles of Peter

[…] pay your fee to the IAM, either to head office or via your local group (see here). You wait a while for the administrative folk to type up your details, and then you’ll be […]

27 04 2010
Advanced driving: what it’s all about « Peter Adams Journalism

[…] pay your fee to the IAM, either to head office or via your local group (see here). You wait a while for the administrative folk to type up your details, and then you’ll be […]

Leave a Reply

